If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

1. Find a roommate to share a room

2. Do not buy the latest mobile phone, Buy new technological devices less frequently

3. Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

As an inseparable part of economy-oriented societies, the way people should apply in order to reduce their expenses is one of the most primitive concerns of citizens, for which different procedures and approaches, such as taking roommate, avoid buying the new technological devices, and cooking at home instead of eating outside are nowadays being implemented. However, the question of what is the best option to decrease the costs, has aroused as the subject of controversy among the authorities. When it comes to my position, I strongly subscribe to the viewpoint that buying cheap foods and cooking at home is the best way to reduce unnecessary expenses. I have some reasons, two of which will be aptly explicated hereunder.

The first reason worth discussing here is that foods served at the restaurant are really expensive due to the fact that costumers should pay some extra costs for decoration, waiters, location and other relating costs of the restaurant. In fact, people cannot save lots of money nor can they reduce living expenses, unless they cook home and buy cheap foods. To be more specific, people can go to nearby grocery stores to purchase daily materials and after that they can cook them. By doing so, they only should pay money for the ingredients, but at restaurant they should pay extra money aside from the expenses related to the raw ingredients owing to the fact that the boss of the restaurant should pay lots of money for taxes, workers' wages and bills each month. As a case in point, I vividly remember, when I lived in the dormitory, I encountered a terrible financial problem. I could not be able to pay my tuition fee and buy my books. I had hard time dealing with this problem; afterward, I made a decision to avoid eating outside, and I decided to buy the raw ingredients from the stores to make food myself. Even though I was a sociable person and I really liked to hang out with my friends regularly, I changed my mind about eating at the restaurant at all. Having stopped eating at the restaurant, I saved lots of money. It was surprising for me that how much money is saved in such a few days. Had I not cooked at home by myself, I would not have had such a huge deposit. My personal experience competently corroborates the idea that eating at home instead of eating outside is the best way to tackle hard monetary situations, especially when someone wants to reduce the living expenses, albeit difficult at times.

By the same token, another paramount reason to be mentioned is that eating outside cause lots of health problems, which means that much of the people's income should be allocated to treatment costs. As a matter of fact, foods prepared at the restaurant are prepared with a wide assortment of sauces, spices, oils and salt which adversely affect our health. In other words, consuming prepared foods puts the individual's health into danger, it stands to reason that in the short run the person should spend lots of money to improve his/her health condition. Moreover, usually the cooks do not utilize fresh ingredients to make foods which is really harmful for the people's health due to the fact that human bodies need various types of vitamins and minerals and eating at the restaurant cannot provide nutritious foods. My own experience demonstrates this reality. When I was eighteen years old, one of my friends, Sara had lots of health disorders because she used to eat restaurant foods regularly. She visited various knowledgeable doctors in order to discover the reason of her health problem. Later, she said that although she got better, she lost a huge amount of money for treatment. Also, she was so excited because she said that avoiding eating at restaurant not only helps her lead a healthy lifestyle, but enable her to save lots of money as well. My personal experience sheds some light on the point that the more people eat at home, the more prosperously they live.

By and large, according to the above-mentioned reasons, I vehemently believe that coking at home instead of eating outside is the best way to reduce living expenses. After all, cooking at home has a variety of unseen effect on human's health and living expenses. It is highly recommended that government should allocate more money to reduce the cost of raw ingredients to encourage more people to cook at home. This will give us the hope of having the chance to see a brighter future regarding our surrounding society.