Imagine that you plan to donate money to charity to help people in need. If you could give money to only one type of charitable organization, which one of the following would you choose and why?

In today’s hectic world, many countries, especially those categorized among third-world ones, are dealing with a great variety of social problems. Owing to various causes such as severe economic conditions, many charities require money. If people voluntarily provide partial funds, charities will be able to salve a part of social difficulties via different means including providing housing and medical care to the poor and establishing small businesses among individuals. If I were given the opportunity to donate money to charity to help people in need, I would definitely fund an organization that prepares food and housing to the poor. I cling to this viewpoint for two main reasons which will be explored in the following.

To begin with, providing food and housing to people in need reduces the crime rate within societies. It is established beyond doubt that a large number of homeless people, which can be found in almost all countries, are more likely to commit crimes to grab food or temporary shelter to settle. For example, they might steal food from markets, get involved in extortion to obtain money for food or invade a house in large groups to live in. An example of my hometown clearly illustrates this concept. I live in a third-world country in which there are many cities with poor citizens. Last winter, I read in newspapers that the Police had arrested a group of homeless individuals. With the intention of finding a shelter to escape the cold, they had seized an abandoned household illegally. Moreover, they even had clung to intimidation through extortion to plunder a number of nearby markets in search of food. In their confiscations, they had mentioned food insecurity and having no permanent place to escape the winter as the leading causes of their crimes. This example clearly demonstrates how helping these people with their food security and dwellings will decrease the crime rate.

Furthermore, providing the poor with nutritious diets will lead to a healthier society. Without any shadows of doubt, poor people are prone to adverse health conditions since they do not receive sufficient amounts of nutritive material in their food. As a result, a vast number of these individuals suffer from fatal diseases owing to lack of appropriate immunity. Moreover, they are more likely to pass away in childhood or their prime of youth because of severe health conditions. This traumatic phenomenon is pronounced in long colonized, third-world countries. I recently read a report about Uganda, an impoverished African country. The report stated that as many as five thousand individuals including men, women and, most sadly, children have perished in this country during the past two years due to a shortage of nutritious food. The report also explained that some borderless, non-profit organizations had run a campaign to attract donations from people all around the world so as to increase the amount of healthy food available to the inferior society of this country. According to this report, many people are eager to donate money to help prevent such dramatic scenes.

In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned concepts into consideration, I firmly believe that donating money to organizations which provide food and housing to the poor is the best choice. This is because it will not only reduce the crime rate among poor and homeless people but also indeed improve the health conditions among the citizens of a poor country by providing nutritious diets for them.