The invention of the Internet has had negative effects on your civilization.

The prototype of the internet was created in the 1960s where multiple computers were made to communicate with each other with the help of packet switching technology. Who knew that a technology invented for solely military purposes and communication by scientists would one day become one of the most household things. With this note, I mention that I do not agree with the statement that the invention of the internet has had negative effects on our civilization and list down the points that explain my take against the notion.

To begin with, the internet has given us the privilege of gathering knowledge from all over the world that was initially restricted to our textbooks only. Students can now access e-books at affordable prices, watch video tutorials if they've missed their classroom lectures, can seek help from online tutors, and many more. Imagine a world without internet during the Covid-19 pandemic. Students could have lost one vital year of their academic life, but instead, with the help of the internet, they could continue their regular classes and examinations online.

Secondly, the business can never have been so globalized that it is today with the help of the internet. One can sell and purchase products in the comfort of one's home, online. Let' take an example where marketing of products was only limited to billboards, TV commercials, or sales campaign once. But today the internet with the help of data analytics has paved a way for every online user to get recommendations of products based on their previous selection, over any online site they surf. Not only it has uplifted user experience but has positively influenced online sales.

Last but not least, with the advent of the internet, it has opened a new world of job opportunities for us. Starting from a programmer to a blogger or a fellow in the digital marketing section, the internet has become a mode of livelihood for a major section of our population. Being a software engineer and working as a web developer, I can share my personal experience here. Had it not been the internet, I would have still wondered my way through life. Also, companies working with information technology are involved in hiring millions of freshers every year, providing them a kick-start to their career, all because of the reason that the internet exists.

I cannot deny the fact that all these virtues of the internet come at a certain cost. The internet has helped us to deposit, withdraw, and transfer money from anywhere to everywhere, yet at the same time, it has created risks of being hacked by fraudulent users. But nonetheless, the invention of the internet has been one of the best contributions of technology so far.