It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Students are the future of society and they need to learn many useful skills in order to contribute to society. The modern world has brought many unique challenges and changes and people need to be well-prepared to overcome those issues. Some people may believe students should study a wide variety of subjects while others hold the opposite opinion. Personally, I believe it is more beneficial for students to have broad knowledge of various subjects. This essay will discuss this matter.

First of all, people in general must possess useful skills and experience to manage difficult situations in life. They must learn to improve their potential abilities, even at young age. Students are no exception as they are expected to learn many concepts and skills to collaborate with others in order to achieve certain goals. When students are in universities and colleges, they have the option to choose some pre-defined courses and there are some mandatory subjects which they need to pass. For example, they must study mathematics, science, literature and sociology. These courses give the opportunity to think and shape their minds properly. I remember I had a sociology course when I was an undergraduate student. In this course I learned to participate in many debates and discussion about our society faces. We learned to look at problems from different perspectives to find the best solutions. As a result, I was well-prepared to contribute to society and I am able to make well-informed decisions for my life.

In addition, another significant point to mention is that studying can become hard and boring gradually as students need to study same topics and accomplish same assignments. If they have the opportunity to select some arbitrary subjects such as music or literature, they might be encouraged to pursue their education and they might enjoy it as well. My own experience is a compelling example of this matter. I studies computer science and I have a master degree from a prestigious university. Students had to pass a certain number of courses and there were some optional courses which they could choose from. After some semesters, my friends and I were tired of studying and we decided to take a music course. This course was irrelevant to our major, however as a result of that course, we felt more energetic and we were happier. We were so keen to learn about music basics, instruments and harmony and we also were more motivated to focus on our main subjects. For this reason, students need to make some change while they are continuing their education which can be pleasurable.

In conclusion, students need to develop many skills and have broad knowledge about many topics to be able to overcome many difficult situations. As they are entering a new era, they must be equipped with essential tools and knowledge to succeed in life and enjoy a successful career.