It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

As an old Chinese saying goes “Knowledge is the power”, the importance of having knowledge is undoubtable. However when it comes to should people have a broad knowledge or specialize in a specific subject, people hold different point of views. According to my observation of life, I believe people should acquire a wide range of knowledge.

To begin with, nowadays companies appreciate experience across several fields. To be more specific, people focusing on only one subject are considered less value so the job opportunities for them are less. Taking the job of webpage designer as an example, the designer has to know both how to code and how to design to complete the work. If the designer does wonderful design but does not learn how to code, he must send his paper-based design to people who can code to complete the work, meaning the process is not efficient and the company will not offer the designer the job.

In the second place, modern society seeks for creative solutions to solve issues, and obtaining various kinds of knowledge enables people to think outside the box and come up with good ideas. For example, our mayor learned history and public construction before, so when he developed a strategy to promote our city, he was able to integrate the image our city history and modern buildings. In consequence, the unconventional design of our city attracts the attention of international travel magazines and the number of the traveler to our city doubled in a year.

It is true that specializing in one subject could be greatly valuable, but it usually happens to only a few people, such as, the top tier dancer or the top tier singer in the world. In other words, because most people do not become top tier experts, it is necessary to have much knowledge. In fact, many top tier experts in a given field mention that they were inspired by things that out of their fields. As a result, obtaining much knowledge is important.

In summary, the wide range of knowledge allows people to have more career opportunities and come up with creative ideas, which are important to modern people. I hold the view that people should acquire broad knowledge of many academic subjects.