It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why ?

As humans we never stop to learn during our life. Knowledge can take multiple forms such as book or experiences in life, both have their own advantages and inconvenients. I believe that experience is a bigger source of knowledge because what you learned is print in you and it is a more personal lesson.

On one hand, learning from experience makes you live the knowledge, you experiment it, while books can only describe to you the subject. For example, a lot of books talk about wars so you can understand what and why wars happened in some areas. But, if you ever lived in a war zone you will not only learn the politic conflict but also how to survive, how to live with fear, how to deal with the consequences of a tragedy that you had no control over. Living and theorising do not have the same affect on you.

On the other hand, books can open your mind easier. Indeed, you can have access at so much knowledge from everywhere in the world and from other eras with e-book on internet or just by walking to the bookshop in your town. Unfortunately, you can not have this wild range of knowledge by experience, unless you spend your life travelling to directly talk to people but you will still miss the knowledge of people who died before you could talk to them. For instance, if you want to learn about Egyptian mythology it’s better to read book because this civilisation does not exist anymore.

I believe that learning by experience is more important because when you learn something by living it, making mistakes and trying again it is like your knowledge is print in you even if your memory is not good (such as learning how to walk). Moreover, I find experience’s lessons more personal.