People have different ways of escaping the stress and difficulties of modern life. Some read; some exercise; others work in their gardens. What do you think are the best ways of reducing stress? Use specific details and examples in your answer.

Stress is omnipresent in everybody’s life and we all managed it differently. To escape stress, you can find many solutions, some people read while some work out and other tend to their gardens. I believe that both exercising and reading help reduce stress. Reading makes you escape reality while exercising makes you releases a chemical hormone that keeps you happy.

Firstly, reading fictional novels is a great way to escape reality for a moment. You can focus on being a part of another universe, even a fictional one. Body and mind can then relax and let go of the tension. Moreover, if you are enjoying the book you’ll spend a wonderful time by yourself and you’ll be happy. For example, I am currently reading a fictional book called The labyrinth of the spirits. This book helps me get out of my own head by telling the story of a spy in a post- World War II Spain.

However, if you are not a book lover, exercise is a good way as well to reduce stress. If you do something you love, you’ll always be happier and you’ll escape the stress of modern life. Another reason is that practicing a physical activity makes you release endorphins which are chemicals produced by the brain and the spinal chord, also called the happiness hormones. It has been scientifically proven that when your body produces these chemicals you’ll feel more relaxed and happier. For instance, one of my roommates goes to the gym almost everyday and everytime she is coming back home she seems brighter. She looks like she has a whole new energy inside her, even when she is dealing with stressful exam.