It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books.

In your opinion, which source is more important? Why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Life experiences are lively whereas books are narrative. Experiences and books both are good sources of knowledge, but in my opinion knowledge gained by life experiences are more important than knowledge gained by books. There are several reasons why I choose experiences on the upper hand.

Firstly, learning from experiences is more permanent than books. When we read a recipe for lunch then we forget after sometime but if we try it and feel the whole process then it will fit in our memory permanently. Furthermore, we learn tables in math and forget with time but when we start multiplying or using it in questions then it stays for a long time with us.

Secondly, books give knowledge in written form or in audio form but it is not sufficient to give practical aspects. For instance, we can not learn cycling or driving only by reading books. We have to drive and learn it properly because practical knowledge is important. Additionally, a small child learns with experiences before starting reading books.

Thirdly, everyone has a different view to see a situation.Books can only give us a few aspects of a situation and may be an individual has a totally different view then mentioned in the book. The experiences are more individualistic and also give a clear image of self. For example, I read about the SWOT analysis concept but when I experienced it I found it has more aspects which are nor mentioned in the book.

Finally, on the basis of aforementioned reasons we can conclude that learning from experiences are more important than knowledge gained from books. These are a few reasons which came first in my mind. There are many more reasons that also support my opinion which are lively.