It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Numerous events happening around the world everyday and most of them seems far away from our lives. So whether we should know about them, ideas vary. Some hold that people should value their time and ignore irrelevant information; while some others believe that people should pay more attention and learn from all those events. From my perspective, being aware of what is happening around us is important which also benefits us in some aspects.

First of all, learning from events will help us make wise decisions. It is an information era, thus the more information we have, the more power we own. As we all know about the butterfly effect that slight change might cause huge difference, so does the events. Therefore when the undergraduate student chooses the specialty, a new discovery in Mayan city might him or her to archaeology; when a stock operator analyse the volatility of price, an international company went public might change his mind to sell off all shares. With the understanding of what is happening outside, we will have a grasp of the current trend and therefore make correct and wise decisions.

Furthermore, some events happened other places might not affect us immediately, however, it is most likely to exert certain influence in the near future. Pay attention to this kind of events will prepare us for accidents. Such events as flood early warning and terrorist prewarning will alarm normal citizens to equip themselves and seek for refugr. So when accidents arrive, it might be the key point to save our lifes.

While it is undeniable that learning about all the events is quite time-consuming, but we need not worry about this anymore. With the evolvement of informational application, the process of accessing events is more efficient and effective than before. Users can quickly follow the trending topic in social media and understand the whole story in the first time.

In conclusion, with the knowledge of current events, we can keep abreast with the time. Despite we might be busy with our daily routines, we still should follow the current news, because it will help us make wiser decisions and perpare ourselves from unknown dangers in advance.