It is important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to you.

It goes without saying that in this progressive world, where we live, watching or hearing the news is the most important part of our lives. There has been a controversial debate among individuals whether watching the news presented by people having the same point of view as us is extremely beneficial. From my perspective, we should read and hear the news presented by people having different opinion in comparison with us, and two reasons to support my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, watching the news presented by people who have not different perspectives, we cannot enjoy the living. It is not a secret to anyone that tremendous humans are living in this planet and they are totally different from each other in terms of physically, mentally, and religious, but we should learn to respect one another without putting these differences in consideration; if one cannot help judging people objectively, they are not able to experience peaceful life during the living. In this line of thought, when someone does not want to even watch the news presented with different beliefs and views, rarely does he or she enable to have astonishing relationship with different people. I am of the opinion that humans as smart and genius creatures should respect differences in appearance and thought in order to make this planet a better place for living and loving. As a result, if we try to separate ourselves from a lot of people whose views are different, we therefore will have serious problems during the life since we cannot accept other perspectives; not watching the news presented by people having different opinions is a sign of disrespect to the majority of people in the world.

Furthermore, reading or watching the news from a website whose views are not similar to us, we will turn into more open-minded and logic individuals in society. It is crystal clear that being informed of different perspectives, we are more likely to find the truth because we have an opportunity to monitor all aspects of a view; in this vein we will acquire a lot of knowledge through evaluating thoughts. Doing such a meditation, we probably change our mind about a specific subject when we find out that it is more logical to accept a true fact rather than standing in wrong opinion. To put it in more vivid picture, I listened to a Life Kit podcast that a psychologist kept saying that we should rethink instead of working harder on our goals, meaning for being good people we have to rethink about opinions, beliefs and make sure that they are true in order to continue our path and be more successful and open- minded people, but it is not possible until we have respect and accept differences and escape from the clutches of ignorance and selfishness; when I listened to such brilliant speech, I decided to rethink about my purposes and beliefs and I now are able to get rid of ignorance. Had I not listened to that podcast, I would stand on my shoddy and wrong beliefs.

In sum, not only will people experience peace during the life time, they will also, be more open-minded individuals who have a hearing ear for listening to people’ opinions.