It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only 3 days a week for long hours

than to have a job where you work 5 days a week for shorter hours

It goes without saying that in this competitive and progressive world where we live, every individual is striving in their occupations in order to improve the quality of their lives. There has been a heated controversy among many people in the society whether to work longer hour for a limited number of days or to work five days a week for shorter hour. Personally speaking, I hold the opinion that working shorter hour for five days during a week is more acceptable, and the reasons to support my viewpoint are elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that working five days consecutively with shorter hours gives the person a sense of consistency. Nowadays, people prefer to have a set of routine tasks in order to have a clear schedule to adjust their lives on the basis of it. When a person choose to go on a job and spends five days in a row in the job environment, he or she will be provided with the beneficial sense of consistency which will positively affect not only the personal life of the employer but also will lead to the productivity of the company one works for. However, when a person opts for a three-days-a-week-job, he or she is more susceptible to suffer from the negative outcome of this decision. To put it into a more vivid picture, I worked five days in the university from 8 in the morning to 2 in the afternoon. Under such a circumstance, I had a clear-cut schedule and according to which I could use my evenings and do whatever I wished to do. However, because of all the changes that has happened in my life, I work in an office for 3 whole days which means from 7 in the morning to 7 in the afternoon. Although I can rest the other 4 days, it is like a torture to me to get back to work.

Furthermore, working 3 days a week with longer hour can have a negative effect on both the costumers and client of the company and the person. Working fewer numbers of day means that the position might be empty and no other employer fill that position until the next week when the job starts. There are definitely some clients who want their jobs to be accomplished on a special day. As an illustration, I needed the signature of a vice-president of the company in order to get the patent of my project. Unfortunately, whenever I went to the company in order to visit the person in charge, the secretary would told me that he did not come to the firm today. When I asked the reason, I found out that he was working only one day from early in the morning till late in the night. When I came back on the specific day that the secretary assured me the principal would be his office, surprisingly I saw a long queue of people who had the same problem as I did. Therefore, working more days in a week provide clients and customers a more efficient way to deal with their problems.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned reasons into account, I believe that working for shorter hours during five days is more beneficial since it provides the person a sense of balanced life with consistency and it will also increase the productivity and efficiency of the job both for the person and client.