Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

It goes without saying that having good grades during the course of study is really important for everyone. There has been a controversial debate among parents as to whether giving children some money for their high marks is an effective way to encourage them. From my perspective, giving money to children as a gift for their good grades is not a great idea, and two reasons to support my viewpoint are presented as follows.

To begin with, giving children money for high marks, parents will prevent them from turning into successful individuals in the future. It is not a secret to anyone that money is a good motive for humans, but studying is the main responsibility of students which create their professional lives. Giving reward for doing important tasks, parents will encourage kids to increase their expectations. No longer will children continue studying hard for their materials when parent do not give them money because there is no reward for them which is detrimental. Becoming reluctant to study and to have good scores, kids will have difficulty getting higher GPA, which is a momentous factor to get a decent job in the future. Children, therefor, are more likely to fail finding a career when they grow up. As you can see, money is not a significant motive to encourage children to continue studying since they are doing their major duty.

Furthermore, given money as reward for high grades, students will have some problems in their personal lives. It is clear that receiving money every time, kids will be used to paying money and they will be obsessed with it. I am of the opinion that money is a main factor for different crimes and had behaviors since people throughout history have met their needs and fulfilled their financial obligations with the help of money, it is so typical that they be obsessed with it and turn into materialistic individuals and children receiving money are not an exception; therefor kids will prefer money upon everything else. To put it in more vivid picture, my parents used to pay my brother for every good grade after a while my brother became so ambitious that he preferred money upon everything and lost his friends because of his obsession. Had my parents not paid him money, ha would not lose so many friends.

In sum , not only will children have difficulty being successful, they will also have problems in their personal lives.