It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Learning a variety of topics and understanding concepts is crucial for the well development of an individual. It is thought by some people that facts play an important role in presenting true information that is worth memorizing. However, in my view, people should focus on learning more real concepts and ideas that led to that conclusion. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore as follows.

First of all, it is essential for people to realize that learning facts do not mean that they understood the idea that lays behind that. People should be capable of distinguishing the concepts and ideas from the facts, which may be sometimes an error of inefficient analyzes. For instance, I had read an article about the results of a study that was conducted by the university of Toronto. The results were way beyond very incorrect. That it took a couple of months to come up as true. Meanwhile, students were referred to those results as real facts. Therefore, they were memorizing something that did not have any value in the long run. If students were focused on understanding the concept that was standing behind this, they would not have put such an effort to learn false facts. Overall, it is better for learners to understand ideas first.

Second of all, Students who learn ideas would be more prepared than students who memorize facts. Students who are capable of understanding concepts would be able to broaden their knowledge and increase their critical thinking. They would be able to endure and overcome adversity and realize their potential. My experience as a student who is focused on ideas and concepts is a compelling example of this. About ten years ago, I studied international history. It was very hard for me to memorize all the facts such as dates of different events. In order to overcome this challenge, I just put in a lot of effort to better understand the ideas that led those events to happen at that particular time. Actually, that was the best method ever that helped me not only during my university years, but also in my real life. In addition to that I changed the way of facing a challenge moment that crossed my way. Therefore, I was flexible and practical dealing with difficult times. It is clear that students should endeavor the complexity and learn ideas and concepts.

In conclusion, I think it is better for all people to learn ideas than the facts. This is because people can better understand and remember what they have just learned and because they could broaden their knowledge.