It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Critical and analytical thinking is needed for the processing of ideas when we learn something. It is a well-known fact that thinking is the key to learning. I agree with the statement that students should understand the ideas and concepts while learning.

First of all, understanding the basic ideas is needed for the memorizing of the topic for future use. In this context, critical thinking made a crucial role. In other words, thinking critically means thinking deep to the subject and don't believe all the information that they hear or perceive through their teachers or any other sources. Students should achieve information through many media like the internet, visual media or encyclopedias and books to confirm the information they perceived. My study pattern is a compelling example of this. I'm currently a dentist. During my college time, I was a critical thinker and I used to ask questions regarding the lecturers during the class hours. I had a habit of clearing my doubts by searching and learning through diverse media. Anatomy was my favorite subject during my college time. Therefore, after my anatomy classes, I analyzed the classes critically and tried to figure out the topics from the internet and a variety of books. After browzing and watching videos of the topics I had clear cut information regarding the topic and I can teach and clarify doubts of my co-mates. As a result, I scored the highest score for anatomy that year and that was my base to become a dental surgeon.

Secondly, analytical thinking also had an inevitable role in our learning process. Analytical thinking is a critical component of visual thinking that gives one the ability to solve problems quickly and effectively. It involves a methodical step-by-step approach to thinking that allows you to break down complex problems into single and manageable components. If students never tried to learn through any of these approaches, they will forget it soon and never serves any purpose for future use. My sister always tried to memorize and mug-up facts rather than thinking critically or analytically. Because of this, she just scored average during her midterm. I exams. I guided her through critical and analytical approaches that made her receiving excellent scores in her final exams. This example clearly demonstrates how important it is important to understand ideas and concepts rather than simply learning the facts.

Finally, personally I think that these approaches in our studying are applicable to our day to day life. As a clinician, I should think critically and analytically before any decisions that I took before, while, and after treating patients. Making treatment plans, diagnosing the disease, prescribing drugs.. etc need these skills. Thereby, if we study and think during our college time, we can utilize the skills for a later date.

In conclusion, learning by making the concepts clear through critical and analytical thinking can make us retaining information for future, and clarify doubts rather than simply mug up the facts.