It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What should we teach students in school? Should they just know some basic information and facts, or they must know exactly where these facts derived? This is one of the most controversial issues in all education systems and almost all countries face it. Some people believe we must teach students ideas and concepts of everything, while others disagree and think we must teach them just facts and not concepts. In my view, teaching ideas and concepts is more important and I would like to elaborate my opinion with following reasons.

First, students can learn their subjects better, if they know the concepts. One of the main points in learning the subjects is to know the origin of the topic, and in this way, we can learn and keep them in our mind better and longer. When we do not know why we have accepted an issue as a fact, we cannot make any connection with it and even if we just memorize it, we will forget it in a short time. My own experience is a compelling example of this point. During my education in high school, we had a physic teacher who believed we must memorize all formulas and we do not need to know anything special about their origin and concept. As the result, all students in the class, including me, spent lots of times memorizing some formulas which did not have any idea about why we have accepted them as true formulas and rely on them for calculating all important problems we face to them in our life. This was one of the things which made physics one of the hardest subjects for me and that is why I believe, we must teach students ideas and concepts and if they are interested, they can learn some facts about them by their own.

Second, the concepts are more reliable than facts. Nothing is 100 percent in this world, and we cannot be sure about every fact we know, but it is not the same for concepts and ideas. Just by thinking about all changes happened to some facts we knew, we can conclude that even being sure about a fact, does not mean it will not change in future, while concepts and ideas are always permanent and that is why we must rely on concepts more than facts. To bring an example, I can mention to lots of disapproves which happened in the field of physics, and we all know that even some facts and proved formulas, which well-known scientists announced them, just disapproved by time. When we know that facts are not really permanent and may change by time, it must lead us to teach students ideas and concepts rather than facts.

To cut the long story short, all I want to say is that, based on presented justification, concepts and ideas are more important and reliable than facts, and teaching them can lead to a more efficient education system. As the result, my conviction is that it is more important to teach students concepts and ideas rather than facts. If students know more about concepts, they can learn more eagerly and keep all information in their mind for a long time. By knowing the concepts, students can also deal with their future problems better and these are all the final goal of an ideal education system we all want.