learning with ateacher or your friends

Our learning methods dramatically impact the depth of the understanding that we acquire. Some people argue that we could learn better from our peers while others find merit in being taught by someone who is at a higher level. From my perspective, people could build a deeper understanding of any subject once they benefit from an instructor who is more knowledgeable than them. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, our peers are not as proficient as real instructors, which makes them less reliable with regard to the accuracy of what they teach us. Even though some of our classmates or co-workers might be more knowledgeable than us, the level of their mastery is still far from a professional teacher who has been trained specifically to teach in a certain field. My own experience is a good example of this. When I first entered Isfahan University of Technology (IUT) about three years ago to do a master’s degree in mechanical engineering I met a roommate who played an Iranian musical instrument called Setar. At first glance, he seemed to be so skillful at playing Setar that I was encouraged to learn from him. He kindly accepted to teach me how to play, and I continued my training about two months. After this two month period I felt so confident that I decided to go to a professional Setar player to pursue my trainings. Nevertheless, to my chagrin, I just found out that I had been on the wrong track for the last two months. Consequently, I had to spend a remarkable amount of time to erase the wrong habits in playing that were somehow fossilized in my brain. This experience made me believe that one should always refer to experienced trainers for whatever he or she is planning to learn.

Moreover, a pedagogue is always required if you really wish to learn systematically and with discipline. It is always possible to procrastinate when you are not supervised. Hence it is quite possible to deviate from a regular learning basis. For instance, few weeks ago, two of my classmates decided to learn a topic in turbine design from scratch. They were so enthusiastic at first that no one doubted their unwavering stance. Nevertheless, I was sure that their thirst for learning would soon subside because of lack of extrinsic supervision. As I had prognosticated, the whole learning eagerness was only a flash in the pan, and it took them only 10 days to forfeit their plans. As illustrated, a pushing force from someone who you look up to is always required to keep you going.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that learning from professional teachers is preferable to learning from peers.

Not only will the existence of a pedagogue motivate us, but also we could be assured of quality learning.

Every individual should try to benefit real well-trained instructors.