Many filmmakers make movies based on books. When a movie is produced based on books, some people prefer to read books before watching films, other people choose to watch the movie first. Which one do you think is better? Why?

By and large, it's established beyond doubt that reading books and watching movies are the major hobbies of the most people. Nowadays, these two hobbies are somehow merged and many filmmakers make movies based on books. Some people prefer to read books before watching films, while others choose to watch the movie first. I firmly assert that reading the book before watching its movie is far better. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into my most prominent reasons for this viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that when people read a book, they only see some black and white words. Of course, some books occasionally include some pictures through their text, but nothing more. Therefore, they imagine the people in the book, the scenes, the places, etc. only based on their own imagination and creativity. In my opinion, an aspect of enjoying reading a book is this imagination. Authors are aware of this point, so most of them put a lot of effort to describe different things in their books. Sometimes you read several pages of a book just to notice what the place that the following happenings take place looks like and you actually build this place in your mind and complete it as you go on, just like Victor Hugo's books, a well-known French poet and novelist. Hence, I assume watching the movie first can completely ruin this procedure of imagination. When you have already seen a place and know what that place looks like you cannot enjoy the writer's descriptions and undoubtedly you will find them even boring.

Furthermore, another reason which deserves some words here is that for most people the end of the story is so important. For example, if you know the end of a book that your friend is reading and tell him about it, you can really hurt his feelings. He will find reading that book nonsense and boring. Now, when you watch a movie and are aware of the end of the story and all of its details in approximately 2 hours, will you spend days to read the same book? Of course not. No one does it. In fact, the results of a study conducted recently, indicate that 89 percent of people who watch a book-based movie will not read its book later. This obviously means that the people will read books much less and it is an alarm for the society since the more the people of a country spend their time reading, the more that country will gain achievements and get advanced.

As an example, in my own experience, I used to read a series of books named "The series of unfortunate events" written by "Lemoney Snicket" about 10 years ago. There was 13 of that and I really loved them. I think I read each book for more than 10 times, and as I mentioned imagining each scene and each happening was a real pleasure for me. Last year, its TV show was released and I started to watch that as well. It was satisfying too. However, watching this TV show first, reading the books would have never been such a pleasure for me that it was several years ago. Actually, I experienced this fact through my brother who watched the TV show first and couldn't finish even the first book of this series.

To put it all in a nutshell, reading books before watching its movie is so much more beneficial. As a matter of fact, most of the time watching the movie first does not lead you to read the book. However, with the growth of movie industry and also the limited time of individuals, it is anticipated that not so far from now people won't bother to read any books since they can watch it in much less time