Many people believe that it is very important to make large amounts of money, while others are satisfied to earn a comfortable living. Analyze each viewpoint and take a stand. Give specific reasons for your positions.

When we are considering options for a major field in college, the counselors often mention the

amount of money that we can expect to earn if we make that career choice. Then it is up to us to

decide whether it is important to make large amounts of money or whether we are satisfied to earn a

comforable living. Cerainly, there are good reasons for both decisions.

If we make a lot of money, it will be possible to provide a better standard of living for our families.

We can live in better homes, our children can go to more prestigious schools and participate in activities or take lessons, we can go on vacations and have experiences that would be impossible without

the financial resources that a high-paying job produces. We can enjoy what the material world has to

offer because we can pay for it. Besides supporting our personal lifestyles, we can afford to give generously to charities.

In contrast, if we make a comfortable living, the advantages are less visible but nonetheless important. We can participate in a healthy lifestyle because we will be less pressured. A job that pays less

may have a slower pace and fewer responsibilities. Less stress may allow us to sleep better. There

may be fewer demands on our time so we can exercise more and have more meals at home, contributing to good health. The extra time can also be spent with family members instead of at the office. We

can be at the ball game when our child hits the home run.

In making a personal decision, I am opting for a comfortable living instead of the high-powered

job with a larger salary. As the son of a successful executive, I remember expensive vacations that my

father paid for but did not participate in because he was too busy at work. I prefer to spend time with

my children instead of spending money on them. I plan to be at the ball game.