Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Nowadays doing a research project is a main part of students' curriculum and all professors encourage them to do their best when they are asked to do a project in a group. There is a dilemma that we should consider all the group members as equal and grade them the same, or it is better to rate them separately. I am of the opinion that taking all the peers as the same and rate them equally is better. I feel this way for two reasons which I elaborate on them in the following essay.

First, consider all the team members as the same would motivate them to enhance the virtue of team-working. They will endeavor together to reach a common goal. One of the most crucial qualities which has an enormous effect on the students' personalities is working with peers in a productive environment using the whole potential of individual and group unity. To achieve this goal, we should encourage team-members to look at themselves as a friend not a rival. My personal example drives this concept to home. When I studied pharmacy in Ankara university, I were assigned to run a project on some antimicrobials medicine in a hospital with five friends of mine. All of us attempted arduously to do our parts on time, although we have slightly unsimilar tasks in that research, the eager to achieve our common aim encourage us to help each other to reach our goal with the best results. I personally believe that working in that group project, which we rated as the same, not only help me to learn more about the medication, but also taught me how deal with others in a group when we are seen as the same.

Second, analyzing the individuals’ contribution in a group project is not straightforward, since they have some overlapped tasks and actually in some parts they work jointly. How the professor could grade group members differently when the aim of this work is collaborating. To put this into perspective, I remember one of my student projects which we worked together, but the professor grade us individually. Not only the grades were far from fairness, but they also ruined our sense of team-working. After consulting with our professor, he accepted to change his strategy when he saw that we had done our jobs sometimes with each other somehow that we could not explain that separately. Had we not spoken with our teacher; it could have ruined our team efforts.

In sum, I firmly believe that team working projects should be graded as the same for all team members since it motivates students to help each other to increase their knowledge and abilities and because rating students clearly is a demanding work and almost lead to an unsatisfactory result.