The opinions of celebrities such as famous entertainers and athletes are more important to younger people than they are to older people

Celebrities such as entertainers and athletes are considered prosperous and successful individuals; therefore, they are important for people of each society. In this line of thought, many people hold the opinion that celebrities are more important for the young generation, however, others oppose this notion and believe that celebrities are important for old people as much as for younger ones. I, for one, concur with the former group for two main reasons that I will elaborate on which in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, young people have been always followed people who are flourished and famous because they need to have role models. Young people have a penchant to be successful in their personal life; so, they attempt to imitate the activities of successful people and put their feet in the footsteps of successful people like celebrities. For example, many young people usually attach the poster of well-known athletes or entertainers to the wall of their rooms because of the celebrities’ importance in their life, however, you cannot find an old one who does such an activity. In fact, old people have already found their way of life, and they are reluctant to follow the way of life of these famous people anymore.

Another exquisite reason that comes to mind is that in the modern era where we live, youngers, thanks to the internet and smartphones, are exposed to a vast amount of information about celebrities. To put it in another word, they know about all details of celebrities' life using social networks. In this circumstance, it is highly probable that young people will be influenced by celebrities in different aspects ranging from clothing style, activities, to the books they suggest. On the other hand, old people do not spend time searching about the personal life of celebrities. For instance, my grandmother and I are fans of one celebrity. Since I have followed her on Instagram, I know a lot about this celebrity and her personal life. Nevertheless, my grandmother only watches her competitions and does not have any inclination to know about her personal life. Hence, I think the celebrity is more important for me than my grandmother.

Having the two mentioned reasons into account, I totally believe that athletes and entertainers are more important for young people. Young ones have a dream of prosperity in their minds and consider these celebrities as role models. Moreover, using the internet and social media, they have a lot of information about them which definitely influences youngers.