In order to stay healthy, many people choose to exercise. Some people tend to exercise individually such as running and riding bicycles, etc. Some people tend to participate in group exercises such as team sports. Which one do you prefer and why?

Throughout history, especially in the current modern era that has affected human being lifestyle profoundly, people tend to give prominence to the issue of their mental and physical health. Doing exercises has always been one of the top considerations of modern people in order to overcome their daily stress that mostly stems from their hectic way of living and prevent physical health problems. A controversial question, which is often raised regarding this issue, is that, whether it is better to do exercises individually or attend group exercises. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that doing exercises alone will have a better impact on our health, while many others believe that exercises that are done in a group are more beneficial. I, despite the prevailing view, contend that doing exercise individually has more advantages. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The first salient aspect to be introduced is that by doing exercises solely, one can adapt the intensity of it based on his or her physical threshold. It is beyond doubt that people bodies and their physical conditions differ with each other. In order to get the most advantage from exercising each person should adjust the severity of physical training with his or her body limits. This can be done only by means of individual exercises. When one is doing a group exercise such as team sports, It is axiomatic that in order for him to be an invaluable member of the team, he should have the same stamina as other team members. Take a personal experience as an example, when I was playing for my high school basketball team, one of my friends was prohibited by his doctor to join the team, for his heart disease.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that when people do individual exercises time is in their hands. This kind of exercises provides us with the opportunity to schedule our training based on our available times. Nowadays, due to the economic recession making money is amongst the top priorities of people, hence allocating a free time in their daily working schedule to do exercises is getting more difficult than before. In this regard finding an appropriate time for all members of a group has become somehow impossible. By doing individual exercises not only are people able to benefit from the privileges of doing exercises, but also they are free to manage their time concerning their own preferences. To illustrate this point, I want to mention the results of a recent study which was conducted in my country. This study pointed out that there is a significant difference between the times that working people usually allocate to doing exercises in a day.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons leads us to the fact that doing exercises alone has some more benefits than group exercising among which the ability to manage daily time and control the severity of exercise are the most prominent ones. In my opinion, the essence of being healthy is more important than achieving it through individual or group exercises. People should not postpone doing exercises because of their hesitant between choosing the way of doing it. As a matter of fact, some other reasons and examples can be invoked to support my perspective, but let's suffice to this.