Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should spend more money on improving access to the Internet than on public transportation.

Throughout history allocating budget has been regarded as one of the government’s top concerns. They should consider all the priorities and finally make the best decision. It goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where the technology is growing so fast, a controversial question which is raised regarding this situation is whether governments should spend money on improving technologies like Internet or on other factors such as public transportation. From my vantage point improving internet access should be one the government’s top priorities. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that by improving access to the internet people can benefit from e-service advantages. Such a development allows people to save their time and reduce expenses, since instead of going to the streets they can stay at home and carry out their daily activities such as paying bills and etc. via internet. In conjunction with what mentioned before, there’s also another advantage, using e-services will results in reducing traffic and air pollution.

Furthermore it is established beyond doubt that by improving technology in the last decades internet has become more widespread in all of the world and a great deal of information and knowledge are available through internet. Hence, improving access to the internet is inevitable. To illustrate my point I will provide an example. Nowadays most of the top universities offer their course materials online on their websites, so students from other countries can benefit from them. As you see widespread internet accessibility can elevates all levels of education.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. By improving access to the internet people can benefit from distance working. Distance working has a wide variety of advantages, air pollution will be reduced as a result of decrease in city traffic load, and people can save more time because they don’t have to transport to their workplace also employee productivity will be increased. The noteworthy statistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country, show that until 2025, seventy percent of direct jobs will be replaced with distance jobs. Which reminds that government should improves rudimentary foundations of accessing to the internet.

To summarize, if one weighs the merits and demerits of the above statement, one realizes that internet is a key to the future. Internet has become an inseparable part of our lives and our development is highly dependent on it. So, governments should certainly invest in improving access to the internet.