Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children. Others think the opposite. What’s your opinion?

Money is used to meet subsistence demand not only for adults, but children need it as well. Some parents decide to give children weekly money, but others claim that it may cause bad influence. From my perspective, I am all for moderately giving weekly money to children.

It is true that there are some cases about wasting money or spending on something unnecessary among children. If they get a huge sum of money, it is hard to figure out whether the products they want to buy is good or not and control themselves from spending too much. Quite a few children who get large numbers of money from parents tend to put their money into computer games and they are more likely addicted to the internet. In this situation, weekly money causes bad habits to children. That is why I mentioned parents need to give the money moderately. To be more specific, making sure the money is within the children’s consumption level and only once a week, so that children are not able to buy things without a limit. Meanwhile, parents do not need to worry about the bad influence to children.

Moreover, giving children weekly money is the best approach to teach them a correct concept of money. Money itself is not wrong, the key is how to use it. Parents have the duty to pay attention to consumption education for children and help them to form positive idea of money and consumption. Take my own experience, for example, when I was a child my parents did not give me any money. If I wanted something, they preferred to buy it for me directly rather than allowing me to purchase by myself. As I am growing up, I suddenly find that I cannot manage money greatly. I have no idea about how to utilize the money such as buying more for less and making decision among numerous products. It becomes my parents’ pity that did not offer me the chance to realize the power of money.

Furthermore, money can build up confidence. If parents refuse to give them money, which means they are not allowed to acquire something they desire to buy. For young children, they cannot understand the reason why parents do not give them money is avoiding fostering bad habits. They probably believe that their family is poorer than others and they do not have enough money to afford more than demands of living. This incorrect realization easily causes a negative emotion to young children and makes them feel inferior. When friends invite them to a party, they can only reject since they have no money to buy a gift; when classmates eat snacks afterschool, they can only envy and then back to home; when other children plan to go to shopping center, they even do not have money to buy a bus ticket to arrive there. Your children will be depressed and lose confidence gradually just because of lack of money which can be used freely.

To put it to a nutshell, giving weekly money temperately will benefit children. They can build up a right conception of money and consumption, and get away from feeling interior.