Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children. Others think the opposite.

What’s your opinion?

In today's modern and sophisticated world, parents' behavior with children can shape their personalities. In this connection, parents try different avenues to educate their children. Although contested by many that the matter of giving weekly money to children is highly beneficial, such an issue is regarded as both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I concur with the notion that it can be a plus when children have weekly money to buy their objects, and I will analyze my reasons throughout this essay.

First, by giving weekly money to children, they learn how to manage it for one week to buy whatever they want. To be more specific, children understand how to spend their money in a week without finishing when they learn how to save it for crucial situations and do not allocate it to unessential objects. According to my own experience, when I was a kid, my mother gave me money every week. One day, I spent my weekly money on buying an expensive doll on the first day of one week, so I did not have enough money for the rest of the week, thereby asking my mom to give me more money; however, she did not accept my request. As a result, I could not deal with my financial expenses and could not afford any things, which convince me to stay at home all week, leading to learning money management.

Second, if children become responsible for buying their things, they will understand the worth of money. To elucidate, when parents pay for children's stuff, they cannot realize how much money they should spend on objects, so they did not reduce their expenses. For example, my father bought whatever my sister needed; therefore, she did not understand the price of them. One day, my father was busy buying her things, so she bought books and pens herself, which informed her about the price of objects. Moreover, she has realized that my father should work hard to fulfill her requirements because inflation increases significantly. Accordingly, she has felt regretful, which has lead her to decrease her demands.

To conclude, while there are several arguments on each side, I profoundly believe that giving weekly money to children has several advantages. Not only do they learn how to manage their money, but they also understand the value of money.