In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future

Everyone gets concerned and worried about which job will make them more successful and guarantee them a better life style. Some people think that it was easier in the past to identify which job is more secure. Others don't really believe that there is anyway to identify whether the future of a certain job would be bright or not. In my view I agree that in the past it was easier to identify which jobs are more guaranteed and which are not. In this essay I will discuss why do I think so.

First, in the past there was much less variety in jobs than nowadays. Obviously having less options means getting less confused about which job is better. In addition, there was much less successful people back then, which means that it was easier to find out how did these people become successful and follow their career path. For example, in my family my grandfather had a successful business. So when my dad became old enough he didn't hesitate to choose business and trading as his future career.

Second, there was much less opportunity to get education in the past. People used to be poor in average and societies weren't that advanced. Going to college used to be such an extraordinary thing. Consequently, being less educated about the different possibilities in life limited the range of thinking back then. So people used to follow whatever they see working. That's why they didn't spend much time being confused and hesitated about their futures. For example, in school we learnt about different fields in life and when we were in high school we had to choose a certain major to study. That was such a difficult task for us. Since we knew there was a lot of majors that we could go for and guarantee a successful future, this made it really difficult on us to choose which one should we go for.

Third, people were not that interested in economy. The way of thinking back then was focused on how could people make money to cover their basic life costs. People weren't looking for wealth. Having such attitude made it easier to them to choose whatever job that will provide them with the basic life rights. However, nowadays everyone is looking for wealth and competing with each other about who has the highest debt in their bank accounts. For example, a couple of weeks ago i was checking the graphs that show how many times did people search "How to be rich as soon as possible" using Google drive. The results were crazy. Millions of people are searching this everyday. Which proofs how much we are focused on our financial situations nowadays.