in the past it was easir to identify what kind of career or job lead to successful future

范文

关闭

Some people hold the viewpoint that it was easier to distinguish a secure and successful job in the past instead of in the present. However, as far as I am concerned, finding a job which obtains both security and a bright future is always a tough task. My arguments are testified in two aspects:

On the one hand, predicting the future becomes more and more impossible because the world changes at a rapid speed. The fast development of science and technology lead to a constantly changing conditions in human society. For example, last century witnessed the thriving of typewriters. Men who worked as a typewriter repairman earned not only rich payment but also high social reputations. However, after computer was invented, old typewriter soon was out our life. Consequently, all of those skillful typewriter repairmen lost their job. What’s worse, large proportion of them did not have a second skill which could support their living. In their mind, there was a deeply-rooted conviction that the job as a typewriter repairman would be everlasting secure. New inventions come up every day. It is really unpredictable for us to stick to one occupation in our whole life.

On the other hand, in most cases it is impossible to get security and success at the same time. Good reputation and satisfying salaries will always be linked with high risk and hard work, while security and relaxation related to boring and unchallenging experience. What you pay is always equal to what you can get. Take stock trading and assembly line worker as contrast. We all know that stock market contains lots of uncertain factors which make it hard for traders to make profits but much easier to lose it. However, a small portion of investors attain sudden wealth in this gambling market. Just as financial textbook says: High risk, high return. Look at another instance: the assembly line worker. Their routine work merely contains simply repetitive effort which is easy to learn but only worth poor salaries. There is no risk for them to take while no promising future to expect. From above, we can see that it is almost impossible for security and success to appear at the same time.

To summarize, for one thing, the ever-changing society eliminate the possibility for us to predict the prospect of certain career; secondly, high salary always means equivalent hard work and risk assumption. Thus enlightens us that we should keep learning and adapt ourselves to future changes. (412 words)