People Attend College Or University For Many Different Reasons (for Example, New Experiences, Career Preparation, Increased Knowledge). Why Do You Think People Attend College Or University? Use Specific Reasons And Examples To Support Your Answer.

First of all, some people attend college for the increased job and social opportunities they receive. In many universities students have opportunities to join clubs or sports teams that give them chances to try new activities, meet new people, and create lasting friendships. These social circumstances teach people about new areas of interest and improve social skills. A college education also opens up job opportunities. Colleges require students to take a variety of classes, which give people greater knowledge of many topics. This creates more job options for students who have a university degree rather than those that don’t. Seeking a degree creates better social and educational skills, which lead to varied life options.

Another reason people attend college is for career preparation. Some occupations require specific training that students can only receive in college. For example, a doctor must receive a college degree in biology before pursuing medical school. Before receiving a teaching license, students must complete required coursework including student teaching hours. Other careers that require a college degree are nursing, engineering, and law. All of these careers paths are impossible to enter without the training opportunities created through a college education. A university degree can be a necessary path towards preparing for certain careers, or can lead into those careers once a student finds a passion for the subject.

A final reason people attend college is for personal gains. Many of the personal benefits to gaining a college education include increased wealth and standard of life. In today’s job market, those people with college degrees have a better chance of employment. Also, those jobs that require a college degree are significantly higher paying jobs. If someone is trying to improve their standard of life a college degree can offer them more money and a generally higher standard of life that comes with better employment. Some people are trying to improver their personal and family situations through the increased job benefits of a college degree.

There are obviously many reasons for attending college. Whether it is for gaining more personal experiences, pursuing a specific career, or seeking a better standard of living, almost everybody can find some positive reason for enrolling in college. Although there are obviously many other reasons that people attend college these various examples highlight the potential benefits that almost anyone can hope to gain from the college experience.