People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Having a job in today’s modern society is not necessarily an option to choose but an obligation. However, I believe that if the economic situation did not rule the world, there would be some people who would prefer to work. This essay will explore some other reasons for having a job from social and personal views.

Socially-speaking, people work in order to have a positive impact on their societies, which will lead them to a higher self-satisfaction. In fact, living in groups puts the onus of improvement and making a better life on its all members. Thus, by working, people feel they have an active impact on the development of life quality in the communities and changing the world into a better place for life. For example, a doctor can do a lot. He studied and worked hard during his whole life, and he did not do this just to make money. Now, he can help people with their health and well-being. He is able to cure different diseases and save lives, find new ways of treatments and help people recover from diseases faster or learn to live with a disabling injury and so forth. Therefore, a doctor has a dominant role in his society because he can provide good health for other ones.

From a personal perspective, working can help us develop a good personality, which will lead us to become stronger and enjoy a more efficient life. In addition to general qualifications, every job needs a couple of specific characteristics. Thus, we either should be qualified for the profession or build the required qualities and skills. For instance, an engineer should be creative to find new and correct solutions for the problems he may face during his projects. Besides, he has to be patient because engineering projects are usually long-term and he needs to wait to see the final results of his work. Moreover, engineering usually needs team-work, so the members should have the required features of working in groups like flexibility in their opinions and timetables. Thus, for someone who wants to be an engineer, it is necessary to have some special character traits to be successful during his career path, which he either is the owner of or has to develop.

On the whole, I think that many people do not work only for economic prosperity. They work because having a job not only helps them to be more useful and effective for their societies but also provides a strong base to improve their personality.