Plastic bags are terrible for the environment. They should be banned everywhere.

It is critically important that we keep our environment clean. Personally, I believe that plactic bags have bad impacts to the environment. I have two reasons that support my opinion, which I explain in the following essay.

First of all, plastics bags are used everywhere because they can hold many kinds of things, they are water resistance, and they are also durable. Although plastic bags have so many beneficial traits, their characterics are also what make them bad for environment. Plastic bags can exist hundred of years because they are not bio degradable or destroyed naturally. Moreover, people throw plastic bags everywhere, the plastic bags can end up in the soils or even the sea. Some animals that can not distinguish plastic bag and food, end up swallow the plastics bags. This will sufface the animals and kill them or even make them suffer for their entire life. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. Around 3 years ago, my mother bought fish from the market. As usual, my family like to have baked fish. While the fish was in the oven, suddenly I smelled something bad that came from the fish, Curiously I slice open the fish and found out a ball of plastic bags are inside the fish. The fish must have suffer because of the plastic bags.

Furthermore, the process of making plactic bags are bad for the environment. Plastic are made from oil that are located in the reservoir beneath the surface. In order to produce the oil, oil company will cut down forest to secure the land for oil rig. This first steps itself already harm the environment because animals that living in the forest lose their habitats. Oil production itself usually produced harmful chemical such as acid gas or contaminated water. Oil company who want to save money, usually dump these dangerous chemical directly to the environment without treat them first. After the oil are produced and arrive to the refinery, the oil will be process into plastic that will produce dangerous chemical and pollution as its side affect.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that plastics should be banned. This is because plastic bags itself and and the process of making plastic bags are harming the environment.