Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world, with the ever-increasing rate of modernization, governments should allocate specified amount of budget on various scopes; having a better access to the internet and improving public transportation are not an exception. While some people believe that it is vital and essential for governments to invest on improving access to the Internet, others stand at the other side of the continuum, holding the opinion that improving public transportation is rather important and should be taken care of. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter group of people and consider that spending money on public transportation's improvement is more radical. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that the more advanced and improved the public transportation of a society is, the lower the air pollution will be, if government allocate enough budget to this section. To put it in other words, when government and policy makers take into account a considerable amount of budget to improve the public transportation, this measure will certainly contribute to a better environmental condition because improving public transportation like subways, trains, and buses which are an important part of a society's transportation means, can reduce the number of pollutants. An example can drive this notion home. I have read in a local newspaper about the newly established policy in New York which is a metropolitan city. According to the policy, the mayor of New York in a collaborative project with different states and regions, decided to allocate a large portion of finance to improving the quality of public transportation, hoping this change will lead to a more clean air to breathe. It was not surprising that after a period of six or seven months, the environmentalists reported a sharp decrease in the number of pollutant since more people wanted to used public transportation rather than their private cars.

Furthermore, public transportation is a necessity in a society because not all people can afford having private cars; as a result, government should spend enough allocation and budget to this part. To be more specific, with the economic recessions in many parts and countries all around the world, the use of public transportation has been increased dramatically. Not having private cars has led people to adhere to public transportation. To put it in a more vivid picture, Iranian government spend millions of dollars to renovate and improve public transportation because the majority of people are impoverished and do not have the money to buy private cars. Not only will this renovation benefit people who do not have cars of their own, but also it will encourage more and more of the public to take advantage of the improved and advanced car. Not to mention that this encouragement and enthusiastic of people to use public transportation reduced the pollutant as well. If the government did not invest on this part of the society, many people would be deprived of the convenience they have now.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that government should spend money and budget on public transportation rather than the Internet. Not only will the air pollution will be reduced, but also more and more people who cannot afford cars of their own, can take advantage of this change.