Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is often not a good thing for people to move to a new town or country because they lose their old friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The idea of moving to a new town has been always debated among people about whether it is a good decision or not. While many people think moving to a new place or city can be hard to tolerate because you lose your old friends, I strongly believe that actually, immigrating to a new place can be beneficial for you in some ways. I will elaborate on why I feel this way in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, although it is possible for you to lose some of your old friends when moving to a new city, you can still have a chance to find new friends in the new town. Finding new friends is really good for your mental health and these friends can decrease your loneliness when you immigrated to a new city. For instance, a few years ago, when my father decided to move to a new city because of his new job, I was completely depressed because I could not see my friends anymore. But after we moved to a new town, I could find new friends and I could also overcome my depression. Hence, moving to a new city is neither harmful nor a bad thing.

Secondly, another conspicuous and ubiquitous reason that moving to a new city is not a bad idea is that you can still maintain your connection with your old friends. This is due to the advancement of technology and using smartphones. It is actually not a hard thing to pick up your phone and make a video call with your friends these days. When my family and I moved to a new city, for example, I used video calls to maintain my connection with my friends. We used to talk with each other for hours and we enjoyed our time being together virtually. Had I not had this smartphone, I would not have been able to make a video call with my friend. Therefore, due to technology, you can easily move to any city and still have your friends.

To put my words in a nutshell, I strongly believe that moving to a new city is not disadvantageous for you. The reason for that is not only you can make new friends when you move to a new city, but you can also keep your old friend by using smartphones.