Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Families play an essential role in young people's lives. Parents channel kids' decisions and way of thinking on the problems. They show children the way of living. As time passes, parents' role in leading children decreases and youngsters become independent and learn to decide for themselves. I believe in that for two reasons which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

First of all, Today's kids are more aware than their counterparts in the past. They have more knowledge about society and better insight for deciding. This knowledge and awareness come from social media. Now day's, children have access to global communication, and they can search and study everything on the media. They can connect other people that had the same situation with them before. So, they can see their decision's consequences and choose the best for themselves. Because of that, parents' influence on young lives has diminished. For instance, if a kid wanted to go somewhere, he asked his parents to take him there. But, these days, kids know how to use Google Maps and can find their way easily without their parent's help.

Furthermore, years ago, kids spent time with their parents. They worked together in the fields or family jobs, but Today, parents cannot spend much time with their children. They work most of the time to provide for their families. Meanwhile, children spend their time at school or with their friends. The family bond is not as strong as it was before. Most of the time, parents have no idea what their son or daughter is going through. This distance between families reduces parents' influence on children's lives. Parents and kids don't understand each other, So children prefer decide for themselves than share their issues with parents and explain their problems to them. For example, I remember having issues with my school tasks, and I needed someone's help. I asked my mother if she could help me to choose an extra class. Instead of helping, she started to yell at me because of my grades. I never asked for her help again.

In conclusion, Today's children are independent. They learned to live by themselves and find the answers to their questions in media. They don't rely on their parents as much as kids needed 20 years ago. They can handle themselves.