Question :Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

Group projects are important parts of the educational system. Students should learn to work in groups Because this skill is going to benefit them in the future. Grading students in group project have always been a dilemma for teachers and professors. Although some experts may believe that everyone should receive the same score in group projects, I think we should evaluate students separately. I think in this way for two reasons which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, It is not fair to give every member the same score. Some students work harder in the group. They spend more time and energy progressing the project. On the contrary, some others relax and do nothing and wait for others to do everything. My personal experience is a compelling example. When I was in high school, we had a math project. We divided into five groups, and each group had five members. My friend and I worked very hard and spent a lot of time calculating the problems. But three other members did nothing. They partied when we were working. Finally, we present our project, and the teacher grades all members equally. It wasn't fair for my friend and me.

Furthermore, giving the same score to everyone decreases the group's motivation. Studies have shown that peoples are more motivated when they are going to get evaluated. If everyone grades separately, they work harder to achieve a better score. They find themselves in a competition, and they start to compete with their group members. This is the effect of positive motivation, which leads to group progress. For instance, our chemistry professor always grades students separately in group projects, and he gives the top students in each group one extra point for final exams. Students usually work very hard on his projects. Sometimes, they even publish papers. Scoring each member for his efforts motivates students to work as though as they can, and the result is excellent academic papers and development in science.

In conclusion, scoring everyone in a group the same is not a good idea. Because it is not fair, and the professors should apply justice. Plus, By scoring each person in a group separately, we can motivate them to work harder and reach better results.