Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

There has been an approach that learning skills facilitates the daily routine and brings about a convenient life, on the contrary, some individuals contend that specializing in a certain skill is way more crucial. I whole-heartedly agree with this statement that improving varied skills will inevitably result in success compared to people whom concentrate only in a specific skill. This essay will enlarge upon the benefits of learning different skills and glance over the side of the argument as well.

To commence with, the working place has always been a rivalry environment, correspondingly, the staff do their best to get promotions and to receive more money. What is more, the highly skilled people concerning different subjects tend to be more successful compared to the ordinary individuals. An ample example of this situation would be the renowned body builder and actor Arnold Schwarzenegger, who earned millions of dollars in terminator series. Accordingly, he engaged in acting rehearses and entered the world of movies, even he admitted that if he remained only in the bodybuilding arena and did not develop his skills, he would not have earned this wealth.

Moreover, science and technology are advancing with a tremendous pace in this day and age. Meanwhile, staying focused on an individual subject does not guarantee a breakthrough in the development of patents and promising technologies and therefore role of interdisciplinary research reflects its utmost prominence here. A salient example of this situation would be the production of the COVID-19 vaccines in this pandemic era as scientists who are familiar with bioinformatics approaches have a high chance to come up with new solutions regarding the development of vaccines compared to traditional pharmacists whom only rely on experimental procedures.

Turning to the other side of the argument, although the promotion of numerous skills is helpful to reach success, sometimes staying focused on a specific type of skill enables success. To illustrate, the well-known electric guitar player Joe Satriani spent most precious times of his youth concentrating on playing his electric guitar, recording tracks, and playing live concerts due to his passion for this musical instrument. He told the social media that if I did allocate my time to other activities I would have got to this place which I am right now.

By and large, the advancement in several skills is necessary to be more successful in several aspects of our lives, nonetheless, some people argue that the professions have advanced in a great way that one cannot develop several skills and need to be focused on one certain subject. Herein, I reiterate my opinion that by participating in learning different skills, there would be a higher chance to reach success and be proud owing to the aforementioned reasons.