rights of animal

There is a controversy regarding is there any rights for animals as well as rights for human? Based on this line of thought, some opponents of the animal rights hold some respects and legal rights for all sort of animal. I agree with this idea, and because of two reasons, I think that we should pay respect to animal and consider specific rights for them.

First, similar to human, animals have a consciousness so that they deserve to have legal right. Consciousness is defined as the awareness of the present and immediate past events. Meanwhile, a neurological substrate generating consciousness is common between animal and human. Researches have shown that all kind of animal even marine animals like octopuses have a kind of awareness in the different degrees. Therefore, they can recall a hard moment in the past and happiness as well. In addition, they can discriminate the concept of good and bad, pain and relief. By means of these pieces of evidence, who can ignore the rights of animal and disrespect their right as a creature like a human?

Second, animals have an empathetic behavior towards not only their owner also all other humans and animal. Animals can take care of their own children until adulthood and devote all their life in order to protect their owner property like a guard dog. Studies demonstrated that if cats are required to protect its owner home, they will do so as well as a dog does. In addition, based on their empathetic and innate behaviors, if they find an animal starving without its mother, they will feed lost child even if that animal is their enemy, like pray and predatory relationship, and will raise that child similar to its own children. Moreover, Compassionate of animal was observed in the behavior of a dog after death of its owner. Psychological found a substance in the brain of dog released when a dog feel a chronic pain or losing its owner. This component in the brain of doge works like the same hormone in a human’s brain in order to tearing in emotional circumstance.

In conclusion, animal deserve legal right like human because of several common behavior. Animals have self-awareness and empathetic behavior which both have been observed in human.