Scientists should be responsible for the negative impacts of their discoveries

It goes without saying that responsibility is one of the most important characteristics of human beings. There has been a controversial debate as to whether intellectuals and scientists should be responsible for destructive effects of their discoveries. From my perspective, requiring scientists to accept the consequences of their works is beneficial and both society and individuals benefit as a whole, and two reasons to support my view point are presented as follows.

To begin with, community can experience peace when scientists are required to be responsible for their discoveries. It is not a secret to any one that responsible people make a lot of progress during their lifetime since they are inclined to supervising every aspect of their decisions or works and then decide. When this trait is so vital, scientists as a large and effective community should be responsible for their actions in order to make the best decisions when they face dilemmas. It is crystal clear that in today’s world science has a high status because of its positive impact on humans’ lives since it facilitates the way we are living, but there has been a lot of negative consequences which have jeopardize humans’ lives; if scientists were more careful about the actual results of their discoveries, we would enjoy more peaceful living. Required to accepts unintended effects of actions and discoveries, scientists will not be lax. The production of nuclear bombs is a great example of harmful discoveries during the history. Had scientists be more responsible, we would not have been witness of huge slaughter in Japan. As you can see, having a sense of responsibility of required to be so, scientific community will be more helpful in spreading peace all over the globe.

Furthermore, there will be more useful people in society when scientists are responsible. Intellectual people are being considered as role models in their countries since they are able to make astonishing breakthrough in the scientific field; role models have great impacts on the fate of counties because young generation are obsessed with their works and life style, juveniles, who are going to figure out the destiny of their societies, can learn a lot from scientists since they are interested in following intellectuals’ rules, therefore it is more likely that a more responsible generation will be created when role models are responsible too. To put it in more vivid picture, my cousin was an addict, who had to spend prison time. having watched a speech from his favorite person in TED talk, he decided to quit addiction and escape from the clutches of being addicted and he succeed. As you can see, as these dominated people are role modern for people especially youths, they can lead society and its members to a better fate.

In sum, not only will people enjoy living in a more peaceful world, they will also are able to take the advantage of responsible individuals in community