Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world, where we live, history is the most important part of our lives. There has been a controversial debate among people as to whether students should be required to take history courses without noticing to their majors. As far as I am concerned, history is really important and every student with every field of students should take courses that are related to history, and two reasons to support my viewpoint are presented as follows.

To begin with, being familiar with history is vital since people and educated individuals will able to prevent detrimental consequences. It is not a secret to anyone that history has a lot of different events and occurrences from which we can leant precious lessons and enjoy a better life since we are familiar with the different situations occurring in the past and there are some possibilities they will occur during the present time. To put it in more vivid picture, four years ago, a contract has been signed between my county and the US to restrict the nuclear energy activities in my county although people living in Iran were not sure about its loyalty of Americans to the contract because of previous and historical problems that were exist between two countries; unfortunately the government of the United States ignored the contrast and we had to go under a lot of problems and challenges, but now we know that we cannot trust American government in these kinds of issue and we do not accept any kinds of contracts. Had my county not signed the contract, people living in this country would not have tolerated the consequences of different sanctions. As you can see, when students, who are being considered as new capacity of every country, will learn about previous events and they will not make the same mistakes.

Furthermore, taking history courses, students will have an easy time during a semester. It is crystal clear that history is made up of enormous beautiful stories that are worth listening and reading. Since it is kind of reading novels or other story books, student will not be exhausted reading it and they will probably enjoy being informed of such different stories. For instance, when I was a university student, I took a course on the history of my country, which was full of pretty happenings I enjoyed being informed about them and it reduced the pressure of my final exams because I had an easy course that I could get a good score from it. Had i not taken the course in that semester, I would definitely have had to take another difficult subject which could have been hard to pass.

In sum, considering aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I agree that student should be required to take history courses; not only will they avoid negative consequences, they will also enjoy studying history and have a good semester.