Should children spend most of the time playing and studying or they should be required to help the family with household chores, like cooking and cleaning.

In modern life, children are often busy for their studies, and after they finish their works, most of them will want to relax and play. Some people may say that children should spend more time playing and studying, while others prefer they should be required to help the family with household chores. In my opinion, I prefer the latter option.

To begin with, if children help their family do some house works, they can learn some lessons that they cannot learn at school. To be more specific, doing chores at home can count as an outside education. Parents can teach their kids all sorts of lesson. Take myself as an example, I often help my family do many house chores, such as washing dishes or cleaning the floor. The basic thing that I can learn is the process of doing these works. Moreover, since I have two brothers, we need to assign who should do which job. However, we often have the preference of doing something, so we need to learn how to communicated with each other and figure out the solution to prevent some unnecessary arguments. During the process, we can not only learn how to do these chores, but also improve our communication skills. As a result, we can never learn these skills at school, so I think it is important to required children doing house works at home.

In addition, children can discover some hobbies when they are doing house works. When children are doing house works, they might find out something they are extremely interested in, and become their job in the future. For instance, my brother usually help my mom when she is cooking. He can learn how to cook some tasty dishes, and some other techniques about cooking. As time pass, his cooking become better and better. Eventually, he choose to become a chef for his future career. Thus, children can find out some of their interests while doing house works, and this will definitely help them in their future career. As a result, parents should ask their children to do house chores at home.

Last but not least, doing house chores can strength the relationship between parents and children. In modern time, people are often busy for rather works or studies. so they seldom have time to interact with their family. When they are doing house chores together, they can have the chance to communicate with each others. They can talk about what happen in their life and if children are having some problems, parents can discuss with them and figure out a solution. As a result, it is important for parents and children to interact with each other, so by requiring children to do house works at home can strength the relationship between parents and children.

Undoubtedly, some people may say that it is better for children to play and study because children at this age should focus on their studies. When they are tired, playing is a way for them to release stress. However, I think that children when they are doing house work, they can not only release stress but also learn many things. Thus, I think children should be required to do house chores in their family.