Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

historic buildings are heritage of a city, it resembles roots and nature of the place. In form of monuments, palaces and gardens they present a beautiful past. I believe that city should keep its old, historic buildings because of myriad of reasons like tourism, knowledge, culture etc.

One of the most important reasons is that it brings tourism. people from other places prefers to visit historical buildings, makes city popular. tourism brings employment opportunities to local people and growth of that particular region.For instance, huge influx of tourist to see taj mahal increased the livelihood of city by construction of hotels, restaurants and travel companies.

preserving old buildings helps to preserve knowledge of ancestors. For instance, techniques they used to build monuments can be used today in mordern architectures. For Example, the style of carving done in taj mahal is used by modern architects to give royal look to the building.