Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Reading is more educational than watching movies or TV.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the above statement and beleive that, doing reading is better for knowledge and education rather than watching TV and movies which are more sought for entertainment purposes. Reading helps to build language and writing skills, gives more deep understanding of subject, and are less distracting.

While reading we don't only learn about the content but also about the language and writing skills. Wide variety of vocabulary and way of writing helps us to understand idea in a more diverse way by covering all important points. We also learn how to do a perfect writing only by reading books of good authors which is not possible anyway through watching movies or TV.

Secondly, the reading helps to understand the content in a more sophisticated manner. Readers are able to sense the tiny details by going through the text one by one and able to find relationship between different ideas in a more structured manner. Ideas can be more visualized and analysed after reading. For instance, reading a holy bible with proper proverbs and explanations though time consuming is more worthwhile rather than watching others speaking. Through reading only we can relate those holy ideas by our own life.

Moving forward, the reading is less distracting than movies or TV, as while reading individual is only focused on just one task or idea. An individual is isolated from the outer world which leads to a more concentration and better understanding. Whereas, in movies or T.V there are various forms of distractions like songs and unnecessary advertisments which leads an individual to depart from an main idea and lose the continuous harmony with the subject. For instance, watching an important documentary and sudden power failure can demotivate a person to proceed further but while reading a biography an individual can finish it completely.

Summarizing, the above points. I would like to convey the message that movies or TV are only for entertainment purposes, whereas reading helps to get knowledge and deep sense of understanding about an idea in a clear manner.