Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, many old buildings have been destroyed because people prioritize modern buildings, and there is no room to build new facilities. Therefore, they destroy old buildings without thinking about our ancestors or other people. I personally think that a city should preserve these old buildings. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, traditional buildings symbolize the country’s uniqueness. Some countries reflect their religious history through such things as temples and churches. Therefore, many people want to see or touch these unique buildings. For example, Japan has a large number of temples, and these reflect Japan's complex history and the spirit of our ancestors. Every year, many tourists from abroad come to Japan to experience Japanese culture. If these buildings are destroyed by the mere desire to build new facilities, tourists will not be able to experience Japan's unique culture. As a result, Japan’s economy will decline. Therefore, destructing our country’s uniqueness means destroying our economy. Before destruct, we should deeply consider such problems.

Secondly, young people should know and touch their own culture and history. We usually study from a textbook. However, watching our eyes is quite important because we cannot learn completely from a textbook. When I was a high school student, I went to Hiroshima, which had been destroyed by an atomic bomb. Many people know about this catastrophe. I studied from a school textbook, and I thought I could understand everything before I went to Hiroshima. However, when I see the real building, I do not say anything, and I emphasize the sadness that people have experienced in the past. If I did not go there, I could not understand people’s feelings. Of course, a textbook is useful, but when it comes to understanding everything, we should go by our feet.