Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays people do not stop debating about whether we should keep historic building safe or we should destroy them to build new ones. Although it seems plausible at first glimpse that building new structures rather than those old buildings is a reasonable decision since every city needs more and more new buildings, I would counter this point of view due to some reasons. I will enlarge on what I mean in this essay.

Above all, those old, historic buildings can make a huge benefit for every city. To be more exact, city council should make a good plan for those building to attract people and tourists. Turkey is a compelling example of that. There are many old mosques in different cities of Turkey and they try to preserve them because those mosques can entice tourist to go there. Tourism has been a fascinating method of making profit for Turkey for several years. Therefore, those historic buildings should not be destroyed.

The second reason which deserves some words is that those historic buildings demonstrate the culture of a city and we cannot turn our backs to the older tradition of our cities. To clarify this point, those buildings are the features of a city without which the city will lose its background. People often know each city by its history and its special culture and those buildings define these characteristics. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. My city has an old mosque which is more than one thousand years old. Our mayor made a decision to renovate it last year because it is a big sign of our city’s personality and our city are known by that.

Another subtle point which I should deem lies on the fact that cities often have a bunch of void places where can be used to erect modern buildings. As a result, there is no need to destroy those historic places which its advantages outweigh disadvantages.

To sum up, based on aforementioned arguments explored in this essay, I highly recommend that those old, historic building should be kept safe.