Some companies have decided not to allow employees to discuss business by sending emails or messages on weekends. Some people believe that this policy is great, others believe that this policy will discourage employees. What is your opinion and why?

In this day and age, it is critical for companies to come up with game-changing business models to adapt themselves to the technology-induced rapid changes in life. The importance in this regard often leads to serious and controversial questions such as whether companies should allow their employees to spend their time talking to each other about business-related stuff with the help of emails and messages on weekends or not. Though there is not any one-size-fits-all solution, I utterly subscribe to the idea that companies should not allow their workers to do so. To support my perspective, there are several reasons, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

First and foremost, allowing employees to talk about business on weekends can make a negative contribution to their mental health. Nowadays, the rate at which employees are being diagnosed with a wide variety of mental disorders, from depression to generalized anxiety disorder, is alarmingly on the rise. Over the course of the past few decades, most mid- and top-level managers were of the strong conviction that the more the employees involved with their jobs even during weekends, the more likely it is for the company to succeed. Although this might fly in the face of common sense, recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yielded several interesting results regarding the boss-employee relationship, one of which suggests that companies that softly force their employees to shut themselves off from things that are in whatever way associated with their jobs, employees productivity might increase somewhat between two- and three-fold during the weekdays as they are less likely stressed out, get overwhelmed, and burn out. This clearly demonstrates the importance of asking employees to distance themselves from work-related things as much as they can.

Furthermore, employees who talk to each other about their work on weekends are more susceptible to making not only routine mistakes but also strategic mistakes as well. This stems from the fact that most individuals spend their weekends with their family members, relaxing, having fun, and try to lift the burden of the past week off their shoulders. As a consequence, they might not be fully aware and mindful enough about what they are doing and how their weekend decisions might impact the performance of the company as a whole. This can lead to serious and sometimes irreversible damages to the company that might cause the company to lose profit and the employee to lose his job. Therefore, it is better for them to live on their own during weekends and leave everything about their job to the next week. This would definitely enhance their productivity and efficacy at work as they probably have had their fair share of rest on the weekend.

To wrap it up, contemplating what was discussed above, I believe that companies should not allow employees to talk about each other about tasks that are related to their jobs. This is because this might adversely affect their mental health which results in less productivity and because since on weekends their mind might not be fully present and concentrated on work affairs, they are prone to making mistakes and this would also bring about a decrease in productivity.