Some high school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for students’ learning and why?

Although many prefer classes where teachers lecturing whole the class and students just listen and takes note, I on there other hand prefer discussion classes where students involved in and share their ideas. I will address the most discernible reasons why I fell this way in the following.

To begin with, sharing idea and lecturing need some prerequisite, which means students need some preparation and spend some time to read about the topic before the class. this mean they have an idea about the class which they will attended, thus they learn more efficiently. In contrast, when students addend classes with absent of mind, teacher spend most of the class time to explain about the topic. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was university student, almost all my classes my professors lectured and students took note from what they said. I recall that at the beggining of the class all professor spend a lot of classes time to explain the base of the courses and gave students basic idea about the class. But some professor of mine used discussion method, and because of that students read about the topic before the class from many different sources such as their books or internet. The result was amazing because professor immedietly after class began stared to talk about the topic and used other students idea.

Moreover, when students exchange their idea in the classes, it is them to prevent missunderstanding. Not only that, but when pupiles involved in discussion they address their problem in discussion and they do not need asked their teacher. Which means teacher have more time to dedicate it to teaching instead of answer students questions. For instance. My high school teacher used this method and may students found their problems answer in other students oppinion.

In conclusion, it is for all the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe high school teachers most spend their whole time on discussion and encourage students to exchange their idea because students attend class with idea about the class, and because it help to prevent missunderstanding and they address their problem more efficiontly.