Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

In technological world owning a smart phone is became necessary, but by whom it should be own that also does matter. In other worlds, although smart phone has valuable merits still children should not own the smart phone. According to me it is parent’s obligation to stop their children from owning a smart phone. I will explain in detail in my ensuing paragraphs.

Cell phones have the power to distract young students from schoolwork. Rather than paying attention in class, students try to sneak opportunities to play on their phones. Instead of thinking about schoolwork, they obsessively text each other and try to check sites like Facebook. This takes time away from valuable studying. This is a problem both during school and afterwards, when youngsters should be working on their homework.

At the same time, smart phones can be extremely costly. Many plans require parents to pay abusively high monthly rates. At times, these rates can climb even higher if children use too much data due to things like downloading songs on the Internet. Rather than wasting money on a phone, parents should use the funds on better causes, like tutors for their children, or a home computer on which supervised learning can take place.

Finally, smart phones can be dangerous for young children. We are still unsure that medically what are the long term effects of exposure to cell phones are, particularly on vulnerable groups such as children. It would be better to be safe than sorry. The less exposure children have to potential toxins, the better. At the same time, kids are sometimes targeted on social media sites by dangerous strangers. If parents allow young children to have smart phones, it might be difficult to protect them in the long term from these kinds of threats.

Let’s put in a nutshell, while older children may sometimes need them to stay in touch with their parents, when they are outside of the house after school, in case they do not require phone with internet access. In my consideration parents can guide their children in right direction by not allowing them smart phones.