Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Education is the bedrock of any society. Almost every parent, want their children to excel in their academics, the method used to achieve that result is of utmost importance. Some psychologists believe offering their school-aged wards money for each high-grade they get in school is the best approach to motivating them, while others are against such form of encouragement. In my opinion, I believe children attending school should not be rewarded with money when they do well at school, because such acts can prevent the children from actually studying hard.

First of all, it is important to take cognizance of the fact that offering children money at such tender age for grades earned in form of reward, only makes them less enthusiastic about learning and having in-depth knowledge of what is being taught, as they will only have superficial knowledge, thereby not achieving the goal of actually going to school. they become motivated only by the money at stake. This can bring about aberrant behaviour in such children. For instance, I had this cousin, whose mother usually gave him money each time he made good grades, as that was his only form of motivation. After a few years, his mother passed on, because of the pattern he was used, he dropped out of school as he had no one to continually motivate him with money.

Secondly, another reason rewarding children with money is not advisable is because it has a negative impact on them. Most school-aged children have no prior knowledge of managing funds as they are immature at heart. therefore, when they are offered such money, it leads them to being wasteful because they do not have any immediate need for it, as a result they spend it on unnecessary stuff which can lead to serious consequences. For example, in primary school, a friend of mine always received monetary reward from his parents when he scored high on tests and even examinations, which he spent on games, these games eventually led to him failing in school.

In conclusion, giving youngsters money as a type of motivation for high marks in school has a lot of negative impact on them.