Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

parents should give school -age children money as a prize for getting high grade at school. Personally, I am of the opinion that children should not receive money just for their academic performance. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, it is not necessary to offer children money for high marks they get. Parents have provided funds for their children’s education, including tuition fee, textbook and other devices required. Therefore, children should take their responsibility as a student which is to do their best at school, while offering money for high grade encourages children to cheat to get high scores. This is best demonstrated by a research conducted by Peking university, results of which shows that compared to children not receiving prize, those who get money are two to three times likely to cheat in their exams. As we can see, it is better not to offer children money for high grades.

Secondly, receiving prize for academic performance also encourages children draw the wrong conclusion that they should get paid for any achievement they have mode in their life. As a member in the society, everyone should feel obliged to take certain responsibilities without being paid. For example, according to the study mentioned above, the percentage of children who among those offered money is much higher than the other group.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that children should not get money from parents for academic performance. This is because there is no need to pay children money and because it encourages children to form the wrong value.