Some parents offer their school-aged children money for each high grade they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

There's no doubt how important it is to be rewarded. No one can neglect the fact that encouragements are of enterprise factors in every success. However, as any other issue, the matter of "limit" appears to be the key point. Not all the means of encouragements are followed by pure benefits; as acclaiming by money which is known to be a renowned reward. There are numerous drawback aspects of being praised financially, the worst is when it surpasses higher goals as education. This leads to totally adverse/inclement consequences especially in sensitive school-age children whose psychological maturity has not occurred yet.

First and most is the changes occur in the impetus. For instance, once a student is obsessed with marks merely because of the reward, the excellent aim of learning will be forgotten. On the other hand, it might be followed by unfair means of winning as cheating which not only is not the presentative of their diligence, but also impacts their morals in a negative manner.

Furthermore, it's not only the child who's been hurt: their parents might be victims of their own method of training. Not always the financial situation of family is well enough to reward financially; thus, in the eyes of a young children, he or she has not been praised as much as he or she deserved. This will induce depression or discouragement in both parties inadvertently.

Last but not least is the expectation of children. It's undebatable that there should be a balance between the prize and the achievement. While a first-year-school student is content with a bar of chocolate, the olders will expect more. The older they get, the greater deal of money they claim; it will turn into a non-affordable amount eventually.

To the conclusion, giving money is not the best option. The praised aim of education might be jeopardized by young children, the expectations might arise dramatically and the parents might not be able to afford constantly.