Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with?

Attending classes is the important portion of learning subjects at university. Personally, I believe that organizations should give pupils rights to choose whether they go to classes. I feel this way for three main reasons, and I will explore these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, individuals who are inspired to study subjects and develop their education will attend classes, if they are capable of doing this, irrespective of any requirement related to the attendance. Therefore, ordinance associated with going to lectures is for students who are unwilling to study. However, they, who are aloft to learn, will not pay attention to the lesson, and learn things although they are present in classes. To illustrate this, I would like to share my experience as freshman. Last year, I began studying in the university with my friend with whom I was together in high school, which signifies that I know his studying behavior adequately. When we were in secondary school, going to school was optional for pupils, and my friend who despised studying skipped classes several times. Afterwards, the rule of our university required us to attend at least two to third of the entire session. Nonetheless, this regulation changed nothing about my friend as undergraduate because he was only sleeping at classes and paying no attention to lectures. Drawing from my observation of my friend, requiring individuals who do not like to learn will not improve the situation because they will skip information of the lesson.

Secondly, students may confront unpredictable problems during the semester. In these circumstances, dropping classes because of the situation may be unfair for students because they inevitably cannot attend lectures but study themselves. Hence, requiring learners to study subjects only instead of attending all lessons can be beneficial for every pupil. My personal experience is compelling example of this. Several months ago, I had the operation of appendix, which is the reason why I could not attend lectures for entire month. However, I had potential to study lessons through the website of universities, thus I learned every topic in detail thanks to this specific possibility of watching online lessons. As soon as I was recovered, I took the tests and get high grade in the subjects. If the institution had required me to attend classes, I would have dropped every class irrespective of whether I had learned. In consequence, individuals who are ready to study matters by their heart but not go to classes may lose their possibility of getting satisfactory grades if the university requires them to attend classes.

To sum up, I am of the opinion of people need to be able to choose whether they go to classes. This is because some individuals who do not like to learn will not probably pay attention to classes although they are in classes, and learners in certain contexts which may be the hindrance of attending lectures may lose their chance to drop subjects.