Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most of today parents are too busy to spend much time with their children. They have to work outside most of a day and virtually they are at home just at night. They wonder whether it is better for their children to play with them in that short time or to help them do their homework. In my opinion, it is much better to play games or do sports with their children, when they have time. It is because playing games and sports will help them to maintain their good relationship; additionally, during these kinds of activities, parents can help children in some of their schoolworks in a funnier atmosphere. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, creating fun time by playing games and sports can help parents to maintain their good relationship with their children. Good interaction between parents and children is a basic rule of a family. Children need to feel that their parents love them and care about them; thus, they can rely on them. Spending fun time with each other can strengthen these feelings. For example, I remember when I was a kid, I had a rough day at school. When I arrived home, my parents were still at work. I felt lonely and I cried a lot until I falt asleep. When I waked up, my parents were at home. Although I was still upset with them, when my father requested me to play tennis with him, I didn’t refute. During playing tennis, we had a funny, happy time. We laughed a lot about our mistakes during playing and talk about our daily events. I felt relaxed and happy after playing tennis and as a result, I wasn’t upset with them anymore. Thus, playing games and sports can improve the relationship between parents and their children.

Second, sometimes, playing games and sports provides a good opportunity to do some of schoolworks in a much funnier atmosphere. In other words, we can learn and do better in a funny condition rather than a strict one. For example, when I was a rudimentary student, I wasn’t good at multiplying numbers at all. My parents spend boring time with me to teach me that subject; but, every time I stressed out and couldn’t learn anything. I really liked playing with my parents. One night, my mother asked me to join her to play a funny game. The game instruction was like this: we should choose a playing card and ask the arithmetic question, which was written on it, from our partner. Instead of each correct answer, we could take one candy from the big bowl, where was in the middle of the desk. It was so cool, and I tried to win a lot of candies that night and nights after that. Actually, after that night, I found out that my mother made that game for me to encourage me to learn to multiply. Hence, we can play teaching games with our children to learn them school subjects in a funnier and more friendly condition.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, It can be concluded that when parents have little time to spend with their children, it is much better to play games and sports with them rather than doing school tasks.